Sekenani Camp
Tented camp · Source of the Sekenani River, east of Sekenani Gate · Sekenani Camp
A drawing, because nobody has sent us a photograph of Sekenani Camp yet. Send five and this page changes the same week.
Sekenani Camp is a 15-tent camp at the source of the Sekenani River, on the eastern edge of the reserve; secondary sources put it on the boundary about six kilometres east of the main gate. Its own site still uses the Sekenani name, while TripAdvisor's listing for the same property now reads 'Miliki Maasai Mara', and whether the camp has been renamed or sold is not stated anywhere we could read. No rate or email is published. Choose it if you find it under either name at a good price near Sekenani Gate; skip it if you want to know who you are paying.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Near Sekenani Gate, at the end of the tarmac from Narok
- Fifteen tents
- Riverside setting at the Sekenani's source
- Easy self-drive access
Cons
- Possible change of name or owner unexplained
- No published rates
- No booking email published
- Outside the reserve; ticket extra
What's here
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
Read from Sekenani Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Masai Mara National Reserve charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryThe non-resident rate from 1 July to 31 December; $100 from 1 January to 30 June.
- $200per person, per day
- VehicleKSh 1,000 a day for a car under six seats, about $8 at KSh 129 to the dollar.
- $8per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $1224 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
The figure above uses the July to December rate. From January to June the same sum halves for the people. A day is 06:00 to 18:00, and guests in the conservancies outside the reserve pay only on the days they drive in.
The full fee schedule for Masai Mara National ReserveRates at Sekenani Camp
Rates on request. No rate or booking email is published on the camp's site (read 6 Oct 2026). The camp is outside the reserve, so the reserve ticket of $100 (January to June) or $200 (July to December) per non-resident adult per 12-hour day applies for each day you drive in.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or 2026 rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Olonana Lodge's $2,450 (safari.com, 6 Oct 2026), because A&K's own page would not load. Angama's rates come from a January 2026 copy of its site, since the live site blocks automated reading. On top of nearly every rate sits Narok County's reserve ticket: $100 per non-resident adult per 12-hour day (6 am to 6 pm) from January to June and $200 from July to December, $50 for a child of 9 to 17, free at 8 and under. Conservancy camps add their own nightly fee, $130 per adult in Mara North, Olare Motorogi and Naboisho in 2026 and $116 in Mara Siana, unless the entry says it is included.
Questions about Sekenani Camp
Is Sekenani Camp the same as Miliki Maasai Mara?
TripAdvisor's listing for the same property now carries the name Miliki Maasai Mara, while the camp's own site still says Sekenani Camp. Whether it has been renamed or sold is not stated; ask when you book.
Is Sekenani Camp inside the reserve?
No. Secondary sources place it on the reserve boundary about six kilometres east of the main gate, at the source of the Sekenani River.
Does Sekenani Camp take children?
We found no published child policy.