Karen Blixen Camp

Riverside tented camp with pool · Mara River, Mara North Conservancy · Karen Blixen Group

Mid-range Outside the gate Ownership unconfirmed

Karen Blixen Camp is a riverside tented camp in Mara North Conservancy, its tents set along the Mara River, run by the Karen Blixen Group. Its strongest point for some travellers is access: the site has a page headed 'We are Wheelchair Accessible', which few Mara camps can say. It has a pool, wellness, bush meals, nature walks and balloon flights on offer, and sells several packages through an online booking engine. The tent count and the owner behind the group are not published. Choose it if accessibility shapes your trip; skip it if you want a published rate to compare first.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Mara River frontage
  • Pool and wellness
  • Online booking and package comparison

Cons

  • No rate captured
  • Tent count not published
  • Owner behind the group not stated
  • Conservancy fee treatment not stated

What's here

  • Swimming pool
  • Family rooms
  • Spa or massage

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks

Read from Karen Blixen Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Masai Mara National Reserve charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entryThe non-resident rate from 1 July to 31 December; $100 from 1 January to 30 June.
$200per person, per day
VehicleKSh 1,000 a day for a car under six seats, about $8 at KSh 129 to the dollar.
$8per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $1224 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

The figure above uses the July to December rate. From January to June the same sum halves for the people. A day is 06:00 to 18:00, and guests in the conservancies outside the reserve pay only on the days they drive in.

The full fee schedule for Masai Mara National Reserve

Rates at Karen Blixen Camp

Rates on request. The camp has an online booking engine and a packages comparison page, but no rate was captured (read 6 Oct 2026). Ask which package covers the Mara North conservancy fee ($130 per adult per night on other camps' 2026 sheets) and whether reserve days are included.

It depends which package you book. This camp sells more than one basis, from self-catering up to fully inclusive. The rates note says what each one covers.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or 2026 rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Olonana Lodge's $2,450 (safari.com, 6 Oct 2026), because A&K's own page would not load. Angama's rates come from a January 2026 copy of its site, since the live site blocks automated reading. On top of nearly every rate sits Narok County's reserve ticket: $100 per non-resident adult per 12-hour day (6 am to 6 pm) from January to June and $200 from July to December, $50 for a child of 9 to 17, free at 8 and under. Conservancy camps add their own nightly fee, $130 per adult in Mara North, Olare Motorogi and Naboisho in 2026 and $116 in Mara Siana, unless the entry says it is included.

Official website ↗

Questions about Karen Blixen Camp

Is Karen Blixen Camp wheelchair accessible?

Its website has a page headed 'We are Wheelchair Accessible'. Ask for specifics on paths, tents and vehicles when you book.

Where is Karen Blixen Camp?

On the Mara River in Mara North Conservancy, north of the reserve, according to the camp's own site.

Is Karen Blixen Camp good for families?

The site mentions family accommodation, but we found no published child policy with ages or rates.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Karen Blixen Camp and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Karen Blixen Camp

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.