Basecamp Mara Houses
Exclusive-use safari houses · With access to Mara North Conservancy · Saruni Basecamp
Basecamp Mara Houses are three exclusive-use safari houses with dedicated staff, which Saruni Basecamp describes as having personal access to Mara North Conservancy. They are the group's answer for families and friends who want a house rather than a tent. Saruni Basecamp has published 2026 rate sheets for most of its camps but not for the houses, and the size of each house is not stated. Choose them if you are a group who wants a staffed house in Mara North; skip them if you need a price to plan around.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Exclusive use with dedicated staff
- Access to Mara North
- Suits families and groups
- Same reservations team as the Saruni and Basecamp camps
Cons
- No rate published
- House sizes not stated
- Conservancy fee treatment not stated
- We found no published child policy
What's here
- Family rooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
Read from Basecamp Mara Houses's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Masai Mara National Reserve charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryThe non-resident rate from 1 July to 31 December; $100 from 1 January to 30 June.
- $200per person, per day
- VehicleKSh 1,000 a day for a car under six seats, about $8 at KSh 129 to the dollar.
- $8per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $1224 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
The figure above uses the July to December rate. From January to June the same sum halves for the people. A day is 06:00 to 18:00, and guests in the conservancies outside the reserve pay only on the days they drive in.
The full fee schedule for Masai Mara National ReserveRates at Basecamp Mara Houses
Rates on request. No 2026 rate sheet was found for the houses (read 6 Oct 2026). Saruni Basecamp's other conservancy camps exclude the conservancy fee of $130 per adult and $65 per child per night; ask whether the houses do too.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or 2026 rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Olonana Lodge's $2,450 (safari.com, 6 Oct 2026), because A&K's own page would not load. Angama's rates come from a January 2026 copy of its site, since the live site blocks automated reading. On top of nearly every rate sits Narok County's reserve ticket: $100 per non-resident adult per 12-hour day (6 am to 6 pm) from January to June and $200 from July to December, $50 for a child of 9 to 17, free at 8 and under. Conservancy camps add their own nightly fee, $130 per adult in Mara North, Olare Motorogi and Naboisho in 2026 and $116 in Mara Siana, unless the entry says it is included.
Questions about Basecamp Mara Houses
What are Basecamp Mara Houses?
Three exclusive-use safari houses with dedicated staff, with access to Mara North Conservancy, run by Saruni Basecamp.
How much do Basecamp Mara Houses cost?
No 2026 rate sheet was published for them. Ask reservations@sarunibasecamp.com.
Can families stay at Basecamp Mara Houses?
Exclusive-use houses suit families, but we found no published child policy for them. Saruni Basecamp's camps let under-5s stay free when sharing.